Investigatory Powers Commissioner announces the appointment of 13 Judicial Commissioners


On 18 October 2017 the Prime Minister and Lord Justice Fulford, the Investigatory Powers Commissioner announced the appointment of the following 13 Judicial Commissioners:

  • Sir Nicholas Blake
  • Lord Bonomy (Iain Bonomy)
  • Lord Bracadale (Alastair Campbell)
  • Dame Linda Dobbs
  • Lord Gill (Brian Gill)
  • Lord Justice John Gillen
  • Sir Henry Globe
  • Sir John Goldring
  • Sir John Griffith-Williams
  • Sir Kenneth Parker
  • Sir John Saunders
  • Sir Stephen Silber
  • Sir Alan Wilkie

The 13 Judicial Commissioners will continue the approval work of the former Surveillance Commissioners, and in due course will consider whether they agree with Ministers’ decisions to authorise intrusive investigatory powers before they can come into effect. They will also assist the IPC in overseeing the exercise of a range of investigatory powers by public authorities including the interception of communications, the acquisition and retention of communications data, equipment interference, intrusive surveillance, property interference, directed surveillance, covert human intelligence sources and bulk personal datasets.

  • Sign up for alerts

  • Archives

    All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

    Speeches archive

    Media releases archive

  • Speeches

    Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.

  • Announcements