Skip to main content

Section 9(4) Deputy High Court Judges

|Appointments and Retirements

The Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, the Right Honourable The Lord Burnett of Maldon has appointed 24 Deputy High Court Judges, under section 9(4) of the Senior Courts Act 1981, for a single fixed four-year term.

The following individuals have been appointed following an open competition run by the Judicial Appointments Commission:


Judge Nicholas Norman Briggs

Michael David Ford QC

Caspar Hilary Gordon Glyn QC

Katharine Susannah Gollop QC

Katherine Elizabeth Grange QC

David Ashley Greenbank

Richard Tristan Harrison QC

Richard Simon Hermer QC

Stephen Terence Houseman QC

Thomas Alexander Crispin Leech QC

Andrew Ralph Fitzmaurice Lenon QC

David Anthony Lock QC

Sarah Mary Morgan QC

Barclay Charles Morrison

Simon Lopez Salzedo QC

Hugh Sims QC

Richard James Smith

Timothy John Smith

David Hugh Southey QC

Nicholas Peter Thompsell

Adam Skanda Vaitilingam QC

Timothy Robin Vos

Geraint Timothy Webb QC

Joanne Wicks QC


Read biographies of the new Judges on the Judicial Appointments Commissions website:


Related links

Sign up for alerts


All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

Speeches archive

Media releases archive


Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.