Skip to main content

Speeches at swearing-in of the Right Hon. Sir Ian Burnett as Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales

|Court of Appeal|Speeches|News

In the Court of Appeal

Royal Courts of Justice
The Strand

Monday 2nd October 2017


The Master of the Rolls (The Rt Hon Sir Terence Etherton)

The President of the Queen’s Bench Division (The Rt Hon Sir Brian Leveson)

The President of the Family Division (The Rt Hon Sir James Munby)

The Chancellor of the High Court (The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Vos)

The Senior President of Tribunals (The Rt Hon Sir Ernest Ryder)


The Lord High Chancellor (The Rt Hon David Lidington MP)


on the occasion of the affirmation of The Rt Hon Sir Ian Duncan Burnett as The Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales


Speeches by:

The Master of the Rolls (The Rt Hon Sir Terence Etherton)

The Lord Chancellor (The Rt Hon David Lidington MP)

The Attorney General (Mr Jeremy Wright QC)

The Chairman of the Bar (Mr Andrew Langdon QC)

The President of the Law Society (Mr Joe Egan)


Please note that the the Lord Chief Justice’s proper title from 30th October will be The Right Honourable The Lord Burnett of Maldon.

Related links

Sign up for alerts


All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

Speeches archive

Media releases archive


Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.