Skip to main content

Announcement of the new President of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal


With effect from 27 September 2018, HM The Queen has appointed the Right Honourable Lord Justice Singh as President of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal. Lord Justice Singh succeeds Sir Michael Burton who retires on 26 September.

Lord Justice SinghLord Justice Singh will continue to sit as a judge in the Court of Appeal.

Lord Justice Singh said: “I am absolutely delighted to have been appointed to the office of President of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal and look forward to my new role and guiding the Tribunal’s important work.

“I would like to thank and pay tribute to Sir Michael Burton and wish him well in his retirement. Sir Michael has served on the Tribunal since 2000 and has been its President since 2013. His contribution to the Tribunal’s efforts and record to date have been invaluable.”

The Lord Chief Justice, Lord Burnett of Maldon, commented: “I wish to congratulate Lord Justice Singh on his appointment as President of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal. The appointment of a Lord Justice of Appeal as President of the Tribunal ensures that the Tribunal is headed by a senior judge of equivalent status to the Investigatory Powers Commissioner. Lord Justice Singh brings a wealth of experience in the judiciary and expertise in public law which will be crucial to the Tribunal’s vital role in hearing complaints concerning the use of investigatory powers.”

The Lord Chief Justice also expressed his profound thanks to Sir Michael Burton for his presidency of the Investigatory Powers Tribunal since 2013.