

# PRACTICE DIRECTIONS PROPERTY CHAMBER, FIRST-TIER TRIBUNAL AREAS IN THE PROPERTY CHAMBER

- 1. The Property Chamber is divided into three parts: Land Registration, Residential Property and Agricultural Land and Drainage.
- 2. This Practice Direction defines the regional areas for Residential Property and Agricultural Land cases. Land Registration does not have regional areas and has jurisdiction in both England and Wales.

# 3. **RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY**:

Any application to the First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) (Residential Property) must be made to the office for the region in which the property is situated. The region will have responsibility for the administration of applications unless the tribunal decides to transfer it to another region. The addresses are in the schedule to this Practice Direction.

## The regional areas are as follows:

## **Northern Region**

This area includes the following Metropolitan districts:

Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan, Knowsley, Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton, Wirral, Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, Sheffield, Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside, Sunderland, Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds, and Wakefield.

It also includes the following unitary authorities:

Hartlepool, Middlesborough, Redcar and Cleveland, Cheshire East, Cheshire West, Darlington, Halton, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire, Northeast Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, Northumberland, North Yorkshire, Stockton-on-Tees, Warrington and York.

It also includes the following counties: Cumbria, Durham, Lancashire and Lincolnshire.

# Midland Region

This area includes the following metropolitan districts: Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall, Wolverhampton. It also includes the following unitary authorities:

Derby, Leicester, Rutland, Nottingham, Herefordshire, Telford and Wrekin and Stoke on Trent.

It also includes the following counties:

Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire.

# **Eastern Region**

This area includes the following unitary authorities:

Bracknell Forest, West Berkshire, Reading, Slough, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham, Luton, Peterborough, Milton Keynes, Southend on Sea, Thurrock.

It also includes the following counties:

Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire and Suffolk.

# **London Region**

This area includes all the London boroughs.

#### **Southern Region**

This area includes the following unitary authorities:

Bath and North-east Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Bournemouth, Plymouth, Torbay, Poole, Swindon, Medway, Brighton and Hove, Portsmouth, Southampton and the Isle of Wight.

It also includes the following counties:

Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, East Sussex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Somerset, Surrey, West Sussex and Wiltshire.

# 4. AGRICULTURAL LAND AND DRAINAGE

Any application to the First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) (Agricultural Land and Drainage) must be made to the Northern Office of the First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) (Residential Property). That office will have responsibility for the administration of applications unless the Tribunal decides to transfer it to another office. The address is in the schedule to this Practice Direction.

The regional areas are as follows:

**South Western**: Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire and the Isles of Scilly.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: North Somerset, City of Bristol, Bath & North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Poole, Bournemouth, Plymouth and Torbay.

<u>South Eastern</u>: Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex, London Boroughs south of the River Thames including Richmond Upon Thames.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: West Berkshire, Windsor & Maidenhead, Reading, Brighton & Hove, Wokingham, Portsmouth, Southampton, Isle of Wight, Slough, Bracknell Forest, Medway and Thurrock.

<u>Eastern</u>: Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Suffolk, London Boroughs north of the River Thames except Richmond Upon Thames.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Milton Keynes, Peterborough and Southend on Sea.

Northern: Cumbria and the Metropolitan County of Tyne & Wear.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: Northumberland, County Durham, Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough Stockton on Tees and Redcar & Cleveland.

<u>Yorks & Humber</u>: North Yorkshire and the Metropolitan Counties of West Yorkshire and South Yorkshire.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: York, the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire.

<u>Western</u>: Lancashire, Staffordshire and the Metropolitan Counties of Greater Manchester and Merseyside.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: Cheshire West & Chester, Cheshire East, Warrington, Halton, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin and Stoke on Trent.

<u>Midlands</u>: Derbyshire, Worcestershire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Warwickshire, Metropolitan County of West Midlands.

It also includes the Unitary Authorities of: County of Herefordshire, Leicester, Rutland, Derby and Nottingham.

5. This Practice direction is made by the Senior President of Tribunals with the agreement of the Lord Chancellor in the exercise of powers conferred by section 23 of the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act 2007.

SIR JEREMY SULLIVAN
SENIOR PRESIDENT OF TRIBUNALS
9 September 2013

# **Schedule**

# FIRST-TIER TRIBUNAL (PROPERTY CHAMBER) (RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY) REGIONAL OFFICES

# Northern

First floor, 5 New York Street, Manchester, M1 4JB,

## **Midland**

3rd Floor Temple Court 35 Bull Street Birmingham B4 6AF

## **Eastern**

Unit C4, Quern House, Mill Court, Great Shelford, Cambridge CB22 5LD

## London

10 Alfred Place, London WC1E 7LR

## Southern

1<sup>st</sup> Floor, 1 Market Avenue, Chichester PO19 1JU