#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2013 No. 1626

# CORONERS, ENGLAND AND WALES

# The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2013

Made - - - - 2nd July 2013

Laid before Parliament 4th July 2013

Coming into force - - 26th July 2013

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 2 of Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009(a) and after consulting in accordance with that paragraph, makes the following Order.

#### Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2013(**b**).
  - **2.** This Order comes into force on the 26th July 2013.

#### Interpretation

3. In this Order—

"coroner area" means a coroner area constituted by the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013;

"altered coroner area" means a new coroner area resulting from the amalgamation of coroner areas as set out in this Order.

### Altered coroner areas

**4.** Coroner areas listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule to this Order shall be amalgamated into the single coroner area listed in the corresponding entry in the second column.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Helen Grant
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

2nd July 2013

<sup>(</sup>a) 2009 c. 25.

**<sup>(</sup>b)** S.I. 2013/1625.

Coroner areas to be amalgamated	Altered coroner area		
Carmarthenshire/ Sir Gaerfyrddin     Pembrokeshire / Sir Benfro	Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire / Sir Gaerfyrddin a Sir Benfro		
<ol> <li>Darlington and South Durham</li> <li>North Durham</li> </ol>	County Durham and Darlington		
<ol> <li>Derby and South Derbyshire</li> <li>North Derbyshire</li> </ol>	Derby and Derbyshire		
<ol> <li>Bournemouth, Poole and Eastern Dorset</li> <li>Western Dorset</li> </ol>	Dorset		
<ol> <li>Essex and Thurrock</li> <li>Southend and South East Essex</li> </ol>	Essex		
<ol> <li>Plymouth and South West Devon</li> <li>Torbay and South Devon</li> </ol>	Plymouth, Torbay and South Devon		
<ol> <li>Bridgend and Glamorgan Valleys/ Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr a Chymoedd Morgannwg</li> <li>Powys</li> </ol>	Powys, Bridgend and Glamorgan Valleys/ Powys, Peny-bont ar Ogwr a Chymoedd Morgannwg		
<ol> <li>Mid and North West Shropshire</li> <li>South Shropshire</li> <li>Wrekin</li> </ol>	Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin		
<ol> <li>Neath Port Talbot/ Castell-nedd</li> <li>Port Talbot</li> <li>Swansea/ Abertawe</li> </ol>	Swansea and Neath Port Talbot/ Abertawe a Chastell-nedd Port Talbot		

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013, which came into force on 25th July 2013, constituted the former coroners' districts under the Coroners Act 1988 as coroner areas under the Coroners and Justice Act 2009. This Order amalgamates nineteen of those coroner areas into nine new coroner areas, in accordance with Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

<sup>©</sup> Crown copyright 2013

£4.00

UK2013070239 07/2013 19585

0 780111 100875

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2013/1626