Court of Protection Report 2010

Court of ProtectionReports

Skip to related content

There were some changes in key personnel in the court during 2010. Following Sir Mark Potter’s retirement at the end of March, Sir Nicholas Wall was appointed as President of both the Family Division and the Court of Protection. One of the last duties Sir Mark performed as President was to swear in three newly-appointed district judges – Elizabeth Batten, Anselm Eldergill and Carolyn Hilder – who have been seconded to sit at the central registry at Archway in north London. In September we bade farewell to District Judge Stephen Rogers, who returned to the county court after a three-year stint at Archway. He has an exemplary work ethic and put a lot of time and thought into training the judiciary at all levels and developing new procedures and directions orders during the implementation of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.