Skip to main content

Mergers of Coroner Areas

There are currently 88 coroner areas in England and Wales.

The Chief Coroner and the Ministry of Justice have a joint long-term plan to reduce this to around 75.

Area mergers are always considered whenever the opportunity arises, invariably when a senior coroner retires.

Merging two or more areas leads to a more consistent and standardised service for bereaved families, and results in more coroner’s areas being of the same size and population.

All mergers that have taken place have been achieved through consensus and agreement.


1 April 2016
Three new coroner areas announced by The Lord Chancellor (opens in a new tab)

1 August 2015
New Coroner Area – Cambridgeshire and Peterborough (opens in a new tab)

21 April 2015
New Coroner Area – Liverpool and Wirral (opens in a new tab)

9 January 2015
New Coroner Area – Cumbria (opens in a new tab)