Recorder Appointments

The Queen has appointed 13 Recorders on the advice of the Lord Chancellor, the Right Honourable David Gauke MP, and the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, The Right Honourable The Lord Burnett of Maldon. The appointments will take effect from 25 April 2018.

The Lord Chief Justice has deployed the Recorders as follows:

Name Jurisdiction Circuit
Mr Jacques Max Algazy QC Crime North Eastern
Ms Angela Marie Frost Crime North Eastern
Professor Matthew Charles Edmund Happold Crime North Eastern
Mrs Mary Prior Crime Northern
Mr Ian Stephen Unsworth QC Crime Northern
Mr John Philip Scott Family Northern
Mr Jeremy Marc Brier Crime South Eastern
Ms Patricia Ann Hitchcock QC Crime South Eastern
Ms Debra Ann Powell QC Crime South Eastern
Ms Maya Sikand Crime South Eastern
Mrs Georgina Craig Clark Family South Eastern
Ms Quincy Rachel Suzy Whitaker Crime Western
Mrs Rosein Moira Magee Family Western
  • Sign up for alerts

  • Archives

    All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

    Speeches archive

    Media releases archive

  • Speeches

    Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.

  • Announcements