Skip to main content

Section 9(4) Deputy High Court Judges

|Appointments and Retirements

The Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, the Right Honourable The Lord Burnett of Maldon has appointed 32 Deputy High Court Judges, under section 9(4) of the Senior Courts Act 1981, for a single fixed four-year term.

The following individuals have been appointed following an open competition run by the Judicial Appointments Commission:

Clare Ambrose
Adrian Beltrami QC
Nicholas Caddick QC
Jason Coppel QC
Julia Dias QC
Francis Fitzpatrick QC
Deirdre Fottrell QC
Kate Gallafent QC
Michael Green QC
Sam Grodzinski QC
Mathew Gullick
John Hayes QC
Ruth Henke QC
David Holland QC
Adam Johnson QC
John Kimbell QC
Peter Knox QC
Nigel Lickley QC
Gavin Mansfield QC
Hugh Mercer QC
Anthony Metzer QC
Timothy Mould QC
Margaret Obi
David Ormerod QC
James Pickering
David Rees QC
Clive Sheldon QC
Dan Squires QC
Mary Stacey
James Strachan QC
Pat Treacy
Heather Williams QC

Read biographies of the new Judges on the Judicial Appointments Commissions website

Related links

Sign up for alerts


All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

Speeches archive

Media releases archive


Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.