Section 9(4) Deputy High Court Judges

The Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, the Right Honourable The Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd has appointed 21 Deputy High Court Judges, under section 9(4) of the Senior Courts Act 1981, for a single fixed four-year term.

The following individuals have been appointed following an open competition run by the Judicial Appointments Commission:

Darryl John Allen QC

Kelyn Meher Bacon QC

Veronique Eira Buehrlen QC

John Patrick Cavanagh QC

Rowena Collins Rice

David Leslie Edwards QC

Nkumbe Ekaney QC

Naomi Lisa Ellenbogen QC

Andrew Raywood Henshaw QC

Edwin Geoffrey Johnson QC

Julian Bernard Knowles QC

Peter John Sibley MacDonald Eggers QC

Nigel David Poole QC

Pushpinder Singh Saini QC

Joanna Angela Smith QC

David Angus Stone

Justine Thornton QC

Daniel Ze’ev Toledano QC

Jonathan Richard Turner QC

Nicholas Edward John Vineall QC

Sarah Elizabeth Worthington QC




  • Sign up for alerts

  • Archives

    All speeches and media releases prior to 2012 are available in The National Archives

    Speeches archive

    Media releases archive

  • Speeches

    Speeches published on this website are personal views and do not necessarily reflect those of the judiciary as a whole.

  • Announcements