Appointment of High Court Master Member of the Civil Procedure Rule Committee (CPRC)

AppointmentMasterCivilCivil Procedure Rule Committee

Following an Expression of Interest (EoI) exercise, The Master of the Rolls has appointed Master Lisa Sullivan as the High Court Master member of the Civil Procedure Rule Committee (CPRC) for three years commencing 27 February 2024.

The CPRC is a non-departmental public body. It was established under the Civil Procedure Act 1997 (CPA 1997) to make rules of court, setting out the practice and procedure, for the Civil Division of the Court of Appeal, the High Court and the County Court.

The Lady Chief Justice has the power (under the CPA 1997) to appoint judicial members to the CPRC and that power has been delegated to the Master of the Rolls, Head of Civil Justice and statutory Chair of the CPRC. Lord Justice Birss led the selection panel considering the EoIs. The appointment is made following the selection panel’s recommendation to the Master of the Rolls and subsequent consultation with the Lord Chancellor.


Master Lisa Sullivan was called to the Bar in 1997 and appointed as a Deputy Queen’s Bench Master in 2015.

She was appointed to be Master of the Queen’s (now King’s) Bench Division on 2 December 2019.