Appointment of Lord and Lady Justices of Appeal – July 2019

AppointmentLord and Lady Justices of AppealCourt of Appeal

The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of Mrs Justice Carr as a Lady Justice of Appeal and the following as Lord Justices of Appeal: Mr Justice Arnold, Mr Justice Dingemans, Mr Justice Phillips and Mr Justice Popplewell.

These appointments will fill forthcoming vacancies in the Court of Appeal arising from autumn 2019.

Further information

The appointment of Lord and Lady Justices of the Court of Appeal are made by Her Majesty The Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Lord Chancellor following the recommendation of an independent selection panel.

The selection panel was chaired by the Lord Chief Justice, Lord Burnett of Maldon. The other panel members were Sir Terence Etherton, the Master of the Rolls; Lord Kakkar, the Chairman of the Judicial Appointments Commission, Ms Jane Furniss CBE a lay Commissioner of the Judicial Appointments Commission and  Professor Emily Jackson a former lay Commissioner of the Judicial Appointments Commission.

In accordance with section 79 of the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 as amended by the Crime and Courts Act 2013, the panel determined the selection process to be followed. In accordance with s10(3) of the Senior Courts Act 1981, the selection exercise was open to applicants that satisfied the judicial eligibility condition on a seven-year basis or were Judges of the High Court.