Skip to main content

Association of Her Majesty’s District Judges

The Association of Her Majesty’s District Judges represents all 420 of the district judges who exercise a civil and family jurisdiction in the county courts and district registries of the High Court throughout England and Wales.

Acting through its committee and officers, the association gives pastoral advice and assistance to its members. It also represents the district bench in varied discussions and meetings with the senior judiciary, HMCTS and many other organisations.

National committee

PR : DJ Howard Kemp

District Judge

Officers Responsibilities
DJ Richard Lumb President
DJ Glennis Corkill   Senior Vice President
DJ Andrew Dodsworth Junior Vice President
DJ Howard Kemp Immediate Past President
DJ Karen Doyle Hon Secretary – Contact address for all correspondence
DJ Graham Keating Hon Treasurer and Membership Secretary

Circuit Representatives

Name Circuit
Teresa Foss South East (North)
John Baldwin Northern circuit
Hywel James Wales
Stephanie Cope Western circuit
Kevin Harper South East (South)
Andrew Davies London
Claire Jackson North East circuit
Keith Etherington Midland circuit

Co-opted members

Name Role
Helen Brandon Judicial College Course Director – Family
Richard Clarke and Caroline Bell Information Technology
Howard Kemp Public relations adviser
Michael Anson and Ranj Matharu Joint Judicial College Course Director – Civil
Ian Avent Hon Dinner Secretary

Also invited to attend as necessary

Name Committee member
 Sally Hickman Family Procedure Rules
Chris Lethem Civil Procedure Rules
Dympna Maughan Mentor and Appraisal Committee
Tim Gray JAC Advisory Group
Gillian Ellis Bulletin Editor
Kevin Harper, Christopher Dodd and Olga Skalskyj-Reynolds Bulletin Sub-Editors