1. Professor Richard Susskind KC (hon) (Chair) – Technology Adviser to the Lord Chief Justice
  2. His Honour Judge Mark Gosnell – Designated Civil Judge for Leeds and Bradford
  3. Shruti Ajitsaria – Head of Fuse, Allen & Overy
  4. Katie Atkinson – Professor of Computer Science and Dean of the School of Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Computer Science, University of Liverpool
  5. Dr Natalie Byrom – Independent Consultant
  6. Andrew Parker – CJC member
  7. Nick Pryor – Director of Knowledge Management and Innovation, Freeths LLP
  8. Karen Rea – Barrister, Queen Square Chambers
  9. Fiona Rutherford – Chief Executive, JUSTICE
  10. Bjarne Tellmann – General Counsel, Haleon
  11. Dr Mimi Zou – co-founder of the Deep Tech Dispute Resolution Lab, University of Oxford
  12. DJ Catherine Hartley – District Judge
  13. Jana Blount – Change Maker, DLA Piper

If you would like to get in touch with the group please contact CJC@judiciary.uk

Terms of reference

To take and encourage a long-term view of the impact of technology on the administration of justice, with emphasis on increasing access to justice and securing the position of the legal system of England and Wales as a global leader.

  • To monitor emerging and likely technological developments (horizon-scanning)
  • To advise on whether current systems and activities are feasible in the long run (ongoing review)
  • To propose a road-map for the justice system through the 2020s (setting direction)

The group will produce periodic reports through the Civil Justice Council, consult with experts and court users, and convene meetings and events. Membership of the group will be reviewed periodically.