Diversity and Community Relations Magistrates

DCRM in action at a local school

The work of the Diversity and Community Relations Magistrates (DCRMs)

Diversity and Community Relations Magistrates are appointed by the Lord Chief Justice. DCRMs act as a conduit between the magistracy and the community and members of the public and contribute to a range of diversity efforts within the judiciary. The DCRMs play a crucial role in supporting the delivery of the Judicial Diversity and Inclusion Strategy. Their activities inform and educate people about the role of a magistrate and help bust the myths that prevail. Through these efforts DCRMs work to increase public confidence in the justice system through a more accurate portrayal of how it works.

Who the DCRMs work with

DCRMs are expected to liaise with the Regional/Welsh Leadership Magistrates and be a member of the Regional/Wales Leadership Magistrates Group. DCRMs will work alongside Advisory Committees in a strategic way and the local branch of the Magistrates’ Association so as not to duplicate outreach work.

What the DCRMs do

The main role of a DCRM is:

  • to actively engage with the community, increase public trust in the justice system and progress towards a more diverse and inclusive judiciary;
  • to encourage those from under-represented groups to consider becoming a magistrate;
  • to proactively support the objectives of the Judicial Diversity and Inclusion Strategy 2020-2025.

Find your local DCRM

If you would like to get in touch with your local DCRM to check their availability for a particular event (for example to speak at your school, college/university or community group), then please compete the DCRM engagement form (external link).


Dippy Kharaud JPLondon
Fozia Sadiq JPLondon
Richard Hay JPLondon
Samina Malik JPNorth, North East and East London
Sarah Hoyle JPLondon

South East

David Williams JPSouth East
Elizabeth Drew JPSouth East
James Stuart JPSussex
Luke Rigg JPBedfordshire and Hertfordshire
Lyn Ajanaku JPSouth East
Mark Walsh JPSouth East
Meera Loxley JPEssex
Michelle Hemmings JPSouth East
Peter Woods JPSuffolk
Robert Macrowan JPSussex
Siobhan Draper JPSouth East
Tanya Beck JPSurrey and Sussex
William Glover JPSouth East
Yvonne Adams JPHertfordshire


Andrea Bridges JPMidlands
John-Charles Tanner JPDerbyshire and Nottinghamshire
Neelam Aggarwal-Singh JPNorthamptonshire, Leicestershire and Rutland and Lincolnshire
Parmjit Sheemar JPBirmingham and Solihull, Black Country, Coventry and Warwickshire
Rachael Ellis JPMidlands
Sonia Wilkes JPMidlands
Suzi Felstead JPMidlands
Trevor Wright JPMidlands

North East

Amie Canham JPNorth and West Yorkshire
Anthony Devine JPWest Yorkshire
Craig Wright JPNorth East
Cynthia Hughes JPDurham & Cleveland
George Spiteri JPHumber and South Yorkshire
Ian Thompson JPCleveland and County Durham and Darlington
Karen Brown JPNorth East
Luke Chambers JPSouth Northumbria
Richard Scothon JPNorthumbria

North West

Andrew Emmerson JPCheshire and Merseyside
Caroline Howard JPCumbria
Dan Longman JPMerseyside
Deborah Topping  JPCumbria and Lancashire
Debra Donnelly JPNorth West
Jordan Kiss JPNorth West
Kailesh Parekh JPLancashire
Maureen McFarlane JPLancashire
Moriam Bartlett JPNorth West
Peter Baker JPLancashire

South West

Agnieszka Wisniewska JPWilshire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight
Annie Drew JPSouth West
Chika Udezue JPDevon, Cornwall & Dorset
Georgia Ramsay JPAvon, Somerset and Gloucestershire
Maliha Hayat-Berridge JPSouth West


Benjamin Evans JPWales
Carys Jones JPWest Wales
Heather Richards JPWales
Lisa Shipton JPSouth Wales
Michael Caine JPWales
Moawia Bin-Sufyan JPWales
Nancy Gates JPWales
Susan Thomas JPSouth Wales
Taha Idris JPWales
Wyn Morgan JPWales